The Electric Koolaid Plumbing Test

The Merry Plumbsters (OK, I) decided it was time to get running water into the tiny house to test the plumbing and drains. I filled the freshwater tank about halfway, hooked up the water heater to propane and opened all the taps inside. With fingers crossed and various other OCD superstitious rituals performed, I flipped on the water pump switch.

I’m happy to report more good stuff happened than bad. There was plenty of pressure and hot water, and all the drains emptied quickly. Once I closed the taps, six leaks manifested themselves. Two were inside (both at the shower) and four in the utility shed, mainly in the hose connections downstream from the pump. I spent the rest of the day trying to repair the leaks and will continue today and retest. Fingers crossed, touch wood, repeat…

IMG_6211

2 thoughts on “The Electric Koolaid Plumbing Test

  1. Makes me think I should do my plumbing pressure test before closing up the walls. umm yeah.
    Hey I know the reference to the title of this post; my friend and mentor Paul Fostor was the illustrator of the Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test. He also ran the coffee shop in down town San Jose in the sixties where Jerry Garcia and the Dead more or less started out. Paul Foster was a wonderful man and your reference brings back fond memories of my times with him.

    Like

    1. If you can test before closing up, I’d recommend it, unless you were really careful about nailing in the plumbing run areas. Try to make access easy to the shower valves and manifolds if you’re using PEX. If you’re like me, you’ll be spending some quality time there!

      I grew up in Menlo Park, not too far from the VA which inspired Kesey’s One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest. Also a big fan of Tom Wolfe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

