Finishing Fenestration

Getting to the front door has taken me a long time as I made the mistake of following the Tumbleweed plan’s non-standard door size (narrow and short), which meant building it myself, custom ordering, or adapting a standard door. After lots of research and being bummed at the high cost of the first two options, I lucked out and found a good used solid core for only $15 and three sturdy door hinges for $1 each at the Habitat For Humanity ReStore in San Jose. I figure even if it turns out a complete disaster, it won’t cost me much and I’d learn something in the process. Still, if I had to do it again, I’d design and use a standard size pre-hung door.

First step was cutting it to fit my doorway - 27.25
First step was cutting it to fit my doorway – 27.25″ x 72″. The door was 28″ x 79″ so I had to cut a lot of the kick and head rails off
After installing the hinges and test fitting the door, I had to plane a little off the bottom and one corner to get a good fit.
After installing the hinges and test fitting the door, I had to plane a little off the bottom and one corner to get a good fit.
I wanted to add a deadbolt for extra security, so used a 2 1/8
I wanted to add a deadbolt for extra security, so used a 2 1/8″ hole dozer to cut a second hole and a 1″ drill for the deadbolt opening
Routing the deadbold plate was tricky because the door edge has a beveled edge. I clamped a piece of wood to the door to make it level and attached a Milescraft template (highly recommended product for door installs) to accurately route out the space
Routing the deadbold plate was tricky because the door edge is already beveled. I clamped a piece of wood to the door to make a level surface and attached a Milescraft template (highly recommended product for door installs) to accurately route out the space
Somewhat to my surprise, I actually got it hung and swinging! Tomorrow comes painting the door, installing the locks and adding door stops and weatherstripping
Somewhat to my surprise, I actually got it hung and swinging! Tomorrow comes painting the door, installing the locks and adding door stops and weatherstripping
Leave a Reply

