Deciding on siding

When it comes to exterior siding, there are a lot of choices. I made up and changed my mind several times trying to come up with the look for my tiny house, finally deciding on a smooth finish, pre-primed western cedar product called Evergreen. It’s milled with a tongue and grove, which I picked so the siding interlocks for some strength and water tightness; it can also be blind nailed, meaning there won’t many fastener heads visible. Consistent with the name of my blog, I plan on painting it a nice shade of green with contrasting trim.

My shipment arrived from San Lorenzo Lumber last week. I stacked it up in the garage to keep it dry:

IMG_6055

I’m going to fasten it with 16 gauge finish nails, so had to order a finish nail gun that arrives this week. It weighs a lot less than the framing gun, and I hope it’s less hard on my wrists. Until I can nail, I’ve been planning the courses and working on the templates for cutting the siding around the wheel wells.

The very accurate templates I should have made back when I was putting on the plywood!
The very accurate templates I should have made back when I was putting on the plywood!
Sanding and priming the wheel well cutouts after using the template
Sanding and priming the wheel well cutouts after using the template
Leave a Reply

