Massive Cover Up

Semi topless
Semi topless

Since my last post, I’ve been working (endlessly it seems) covering all the framing with plywood sheathing. Since I’m not that great a carpenter yet, I’m sort of glad to hide my framing goofs under the panels. The plywood certainly makes the tiny house feel much more rigid and substantial, like it might actually survive the trip off my driveway. It also has effect of shielding the view of the outside world and defining the interior space, which is indeed tiny!

Claustrophobic - looking forward to cutting out those windows
Claustrophobic – looking forward to cutting out those windows

I’m using Structural 1 plywood for the sheathing, 5/8″ on the front and back walls (subject to the greatest wind loads) and 3/8″ on the sides. The 5/8’s is very heavy and required the help of my dad to lift into place before nailing. The 3/8’s is much easier to work with, I can lift the sheets into place myself while Brooke clamps them into place from the loft, then I nail away.

Does this sheathing make my butt look big?
Does this sheathing make my butt look big?

Most houses are typically sheathed with the plywood panels either all vertical or all horizontal. After a lot of pondering (the Tumbleweed plans give surprisingly little guidance on this) I decided on a hybrid approach because I wanted to really tie the loft level using vertical sheets into the lower level studs, anchored by the horizontal sheets, as you can see from the photo above. You can also see we put in a few more roof rafters – I’m waiting till the sheathing is all done before completing the rest, they make moving in the loft a constant limbo dance. With the rafters done, we can start on the roof sheathing, again with the 5/8″ plywood. I can hardly wait to carry all that weight 13′ off the ground!

Leave a Reply

