Subfloor almost done

Despite a leaky pipe in our non-tiny house that ruined our kitchen floor and has left us without water, I managed to make a bit more progress on the trailer when I wasn’t on the phone with the insurance company or meeting with contractors. After finishing the perimeter fascia, my dad and I got most of the sub floor plywood cut and laid out. We’re using 3/4″ tongue and groove plywood as the trailer joists are 24″ OC. The eight threaded rod attachments on the trailer which will help anchor the framing (see below) and the wheel wells made placing the plywood sheets a little tricky, but we got it done. The sheets have some crown to them, so I placed some heavy paver stones on them to help level them before I nail and screw them permanently into place.

Since I’m still waiting for some special insulating flashing tape to arrive before I can insulate and finish the sub floor, I decided to tackle the shower drain. The 2″ shower drain requires a cut out that opens up very close to a beam under the trailer, too close both vertically and horizontally for ABS pipe. After 45 minutes spent in the plumbing sections of West Marine and OSH, I came up with a solution that will use 1.5″ flexible vinyl bilge hose that I can just barely bend past the beam. I will use hose for the bathroom and kitchen sinks as well, all of which will drain into a grey water tank or a french drain, depending on where I end up putting my tiny house. After cutting the hole into the trailer flashing, I  covered the exposed flashing metal with silicon caulking to prevent rust and reduce the chances of cutting into the drain hose.

The next step is insulating the sub floor, which I’ll start on when I have all the materials assembled by mid-week. Till then, have a great weekend.

Installing sub floor is like putting together a puzzle with 50 pound pieces
Installing sub floor is like putting together a puzzle with 50 pound pieces
There's hole, there's a hole, there's a whole in the bottom of my trailer
There’s hole, there’s a hole, there’s a whole in the bottom of my trailer
The drain fits - just barely
The drain fits – just barely
Leave a Reply

